Lauren Leto

Used Books

Posted in Uncategorized by Lauren Leto on September 23, 2009

Confession time.

I like my books to feel used. I bind the binding, throw away the sleeve of hardcovers, write notes in the margins and fold down the corner to mark my spot.

Jeffrey Eugenides was so amazed by what I did to his Virgin Suicides that he commented on it when he signed my book.

18964501

I think people are polarized when it comes to this concept. Some take great care of their books while others put them through the ringer. I like my books to look like I’ve raped them.

Tagged with:

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. M said, on September 29, 2009 at 12:14 am

    OH MY GOD! OUCH!

    I find it super painful to write on books – esp the ones that I buy. However the ebooks that I printed out for class – littered with texts at the margins, even a doodle or two!

    Hi there Lauren, came here from 20sb. Did you really really read all those books? (:


Leave a Reply

